Michigan Michigan State Facts

There are fewer men than woman in Michigan. The overall gender ratio is 97 men to 100 women.

The Michigan flag was adopted on June 26, 1911. The flag has been ranked the 44th best U.S. flag by a leading Vexillology Organization.

The Michigan quarter was the 26th quarter released overall. The quarter was released on January 26, 2004.

Recent estimates put Michigan's population at around 9,910,000 people (10th out of 56).The population density is 175.3 people per square mile (24th out of 56).

Someone from Michigan is known as a Michiganian. View our List of Adjectival and Demonyms for all the States.

Michigan was the 26th state when it joined the United States on January 26, 1837. Prior to 1837, Michigan was known as "Michigan Territory."

Essential Michigan Facts

  • MI
    Postal Code
    The Michigan postal code is MI. This abbreviation has been used since the USPS first established official codes in October 1963.
  • Gender Ratio
    Gender Ratio: 97 Men to 100 Women
    Male Population: 4,868,463 men
    Female Population: 5,041,414 women
  • State Flag
    The 6 main colors in the Michigan flag are #00287E, #86473F, #FFFFFF, #B37535, #006FFF, and #000000
  • State Quarter
    The Michigan Quarter was released in January 01, 2004.
    Total Mintage: 0.46 billion.
    Engraver: Donna Weaver
  • Population and Area
    Population: 9,909,877 people
    Land Area: 56,539 square miles
    Population Density: 9,909,877 people per square mile

Areas Codes in Michigan (12)

  • 231
  • 248
  • 269
  • 313
  • 517
  • 586
  • 616
  • 734
  • 810
  • 906
  • 947
  • 989

Michigan Counties (83)

County Top Cities
Alcona County Barton City, Black River, Curran, Glennie, Greenbush, and Harrisville
Alger County Au Train, Chatham, Deerton, Eben Junction, Grand Marais, and Munising
Allegan County Allegan, Bradley, Burnips, Dorr, Douglas, and Fennville
Alpena County Alpena, Herron, Lachine, and Ossineke
Antrim County Alba, Alden, Bellaire, Central Lake, Eastport, and Elk Rapids
Arenac County Alger, Au Gres, Omer, Standish, Sterling, and Turner
Baraga County Baraga, Covington, Lanse, Michigamme, Pelkie, and Skanee
Barry County Cloverdale, Delton, Dowling, Freeport, Hastings, and Hickory Corners
Bay County Auburn, Bay City, Bentley, Essexville, Kawkawlin, and Linwood
Benzie County Benzonia, Beulah, Elberta, Frankfort, Honor, and Lake Ann
Berrien County Baroda, Benton Harbor, Berrien Center, Berrien Springs, Bridgman, and Buchanan
Branch County Bronson, Coldwater, Montgomery, Quincy, Sherwood, and Union City
Calhoun County Albion, Athens, Battle Creek, Bedford, Burlington, and Ceresco
Cass County Cassopolis, Dowagiac, Edwardsburg, Jones, Marcellus, and Union
Charlevoix County Bay Shore, Beaver Island, Boyne City, Boyne Falls, Charlevoix, and East Jordan
Cheboygan County Afton, Brutus, Burt Lake, Cheboygan, Indian River, and Mullett Lake
Chippewa County Barbeau, Brimley, Dafter, De Tour Village, Drummond Island, and Eckerman
Clare County Clare, Farwell, Harrison, Lake, Lake George, and Marion
Clinton County Bath, Dewitt, Eagle, Elsie, Eureka, and Fowler
Crawford County Frederic and Grayling
Delta County Bark River, Cooks, Cornell, Escanaba, Garden, and Gladstone
Dickinson County Channing, Felch, Foster City, Iron Mountain, Kingsford, and Loretto
Eaton County Bellevue, Charlotte, Dimondale, Eaton Rapids, Grand Ledge, and Lansing
Emmet County Alanson, Carp Lake, Conway, Cross Village, Good Hart, and Harbor Springs
Genesee County Atlas, Burton, Clio, Davison, Fenton, and Flint
Gladwin County Beaverton, Gladwin, and Rhodes
Gogebic County Bessemer, Ironwood, Marenisco, Ramsay, Wakefield, and Watersmeet
Grand Traverse County Acme, Buckley, Grawn, Interlochen, Kingsley, and Mayfield
Gratiot County Alma, Ashley, Bannister, Breckenridge, Elm Hall, and Elwell
Hillsdale County Allen, Camden, Cement City, Frontier, Hillsdale, and Jerome
Houghton County Atlantic Mine, Calumet, Chassell, Copper City, Dodgeville, and Dollar Bay
Huron County Bad Axe, Bay Port, Caseville, Elkton, Filion, and Harbor Beach
Ingham County Dansville, East Lansing, Haslett, Holt, Lansing, and Leslie
Ionia County Belding, Clarksville, Hubbardston, Ionia, Lake Odessa, and Lyons
Iosco County East Tawas, Hale, Long Lake, National City, Oscoda, and Tawas City
Iron County Alpha, Amasa, Caspian, Crystal Falls, Gaastra, and Iron River
Isabella County Blanchard, Mount Pleasant, Rosebush, Shepherd, Weidman, and Winn
Jackson County Brooklyn, Clarklake, Concord, Grass Lake, Hanover, and Horton
Kalamazoo County Augusta, Climax, Comstock, Fulton, Galesburg, and Kalamazoo
Kalkaska County Fife Lake, Kalkaska, Rapid City, and South Boardman
Kent County Ada, Alto, Belmont, Byron Center, Caledonia, and Cannonsburg
Keweenaw County Ahmeek, Allouez, Copper Harbor, and Mohawk
Lake County Baldwin, Chase, Idlewild, Irons, and Luther
Lapeer County Almont, Attica, Clifford, Columbiaville, Dryden, and Hadley
Leelanau County Cedar, Empire, Glen Arbor, Lake Leelanau, Leland, and Maple City
Lenawee County Addison, Adrian, Blissfield, Britton, Clayton, and Clinton
Livingston County Brighton, Cohoctah, Fowlerville, Gregory, Hamburg, and Hartland
Luce County Mc Millan and Newberry
Mackinac County Cedarville, Curtis, Engadine, Gould City, Hessel, and Mackinac Island
Macomb County Armada, Center Line, Clinton Township, Eastpointe, Fraser, and Harrison Township
Manistee County Arcadia, Bear Lake, Brethren, Copemish, Eastlake, and Filer City
Marquette County Arnold, Big Bay, Champion, Gwinn, Ishpeming, and Little Lake
Mason County Branch, Custer, Fountain, Free Soil, Ludington, and Scottville
Mecosta County Barryton, Big Rapids, Chippewa Lake, Mecosta, Morley, and Remus
Menominee County Carney, Daggett, Harris, Hermansville, Ingalls, and Menominee
Midland County Coleman, Edenville, Hope, Midland, and Sanford
Missaukee County Falmouth, Lake City, Mc Bain, and Merritt
Monroe County Azalia, Carleton, Dundee, Erie, Ida, and La Salle
Montcalm County Carson City, Cedar Lake, Coral, Crystal, Edmore, and Fenwick
Montmorency County Atlanta and Hillman
Muskegon County Bailey, Casnovia, Fruitport, Holton, Montague, and Muskegon
Newaygo County Bitely, Brohman, Fremont, Grant, Newaygo, and Paris
Oakland County Auburn Hills, Berkley, Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, Clarkston, and Clawson
Oceana County Hart, Hesperia, Mears, New Era, Pentwater, and Rothbury
Ogemaw County Lupton, Prescott, Rose City, and West Branch
Ontonagon County Bergland, Bruce Crossing, Ewen, Greenland, Mass City, and Ontonagon
Osceola County Evart, Hersey, Leroy, Reed City, Sears, and Tustin
Oscoda County Comins, Fairview, Lewiston, Luzerne, and Mio
Otsego County Gaylord, Johannesburg, Vanderbilt, and Waters
Ottawa County Allendale, Conklin, Coopersville, Ferrysburg, Grand Haven, and Holland
Presque Isle County Hawks, Millersburg, Onaway, Posen, Presque Isle, and Rogers City
Roscommon County Higgins Lake, Houghton Lake, Houghton Lake Heights, Prudenville, Roscommon, and Saint Helen
Saginaw County Birch Run, Brant, Bridgeport, Burt, Carrollton, and Chesaning
Sanilac County Applegate, Argyle, Brown City, Carsonville, Croswell, and Decker
Schoolcraft County Germfask, Gulliver, Manistique, and Seney
Shiawassee County Bancroft, Byron, Corunna, Durand, Henderson, and Laingsburg
St. Clair County Algonac, Allenton, Anchorville, Avoca, Capac, and Casco
St. Joseph County Burr Oak, Centreville, Colon, Constantine, Leonidas, and Mendon
Tuscola County Akron, Caro, Cass City, Deford, Fairgrove, and Fostoria
Van Buren County Bangor, Bloomingdale, Breedsville, Covert, Decatur, and Gobles
Washtenaw County Ann Arbor, Bridgewater, Chelsea, Dexter, Manchester, and Milan
Wayne County Allen Park, Belleville, Canton, Dearborn, Dearborn Heights, and Detroit
Wexford County Boon, Cadillac, Harrietta, Manton, and Mesick
** This Document Provided By States101.com **
Source: https://www.states101.com/michigan