Mississippi Mississippi State Facts

There are fewer men than woman in Mississippi. The overall gender ratio is 94 men to 100 women.

The Mississippi flag was adopted on April 23, 1894. The flag has been ranked the 15th best U.S. flag by a leading Vexillology Organization.

The Mississippi quarter was the 20th quarter released overall. The quarter was released on October 15, 2002.

Recent estimates put Mississippi's population at around 2,994,000 people (32nd out of 56).The population density is 63.8 people per square mile (38th out of 56).

Someone from Mississippi is known as a Mississippian. View our List of Adjectival and Demonyms for all the States.

Mississippi was the 20th state when it joined the United States on December 10, 1817. Prior to 1817, Mississippi was known as "Mississippi Territory."

Essential Mississippi Facts

  • MS
    Postal Code
    The Mississippi postal code is MS. This abbreviation has been used since the USPS first established official codes in October 1963.
  • Gender Ratio
    Gender Ratio: 94 Men to 100 Women
    Male Population: 1,454,556 men
    Female Population: 1,539,523 women
  • State Flag
    The 3 main colors in the Mississippi flag are #BF0A30, #002868, and #FFFFFF
  • State Quarter
    The Mississippi Quarter was released in October 10, 2002.
    Total Mintage: 0.58 billion.
    Engraver: Donna Weaver
  • Population and Area
    Population: 2,994,079 people
    Land Area: 46,923 square miles
    Population Density: 2,994,079 people per square mile

Areas Codes in Mississippi (6)

  • 228
  • 601
  • 662
  • 769
  • 901
  • 985

Mississippi Counties (82)

County Top Cities
Adams County Natchez, Sibley, and Washington
Alcorn County Corinth, Glen, and Rienzi
Amite County Gloster, Liberty, and Smithdale
Attala County Ethel, Kosciusko, Mc Adams, Mc Cool, and Sallis
Benton County Ashland, Hickory Flat, Lamar, and Michigan City
Bolivar County Alligator, Benoit, Beulah, Boyle, Cleveland, and Duncan
Calhoun County Banner, Big Creek, Bruce, Calhoun City, Derma, and Pittsboro
Carroll County Carrollton, Coila, Mc Carley, North Carrollton, and Vaiden
Chickasaw County Houlka, Houston, Okolona, Trebloc, Van Vleet, and Woodland
Choctaw County Ackerman, French Camp, Mathiston, and Weir
Claiborne County Hermanville, Pattison, and Port Gibson
Clarke County Enterprise, Pachuta, Quitman, Shubuta, and Stonewall
Clay County Cedarbluff, Montpelier, Pheba, and West Point
Coahoma County Clarksdale, Coahoma, Dublin, Farrell, Friars Point, and Jonestown
Copiah County Crystal Springs, Gallman, Georgetown, Hazlehurst, and Wesson
Covington County Collins, Mount Olive, and Seminary
DeSoto County Hernando, Horn Lake, Lake Cormorant, Nesbit, Olive Branch, and Southaven
Forrest County Brooklyn, Hattiesburg, and Petal
Franklin County Bude, Mc Call Creek, Meadville, and Roxie
George County Lucedale
Greene County Leakesville, Mc Lain, Neely, and State Line
Grenada County Elliott, Gore Springs, Grenada, Holcomb, and Tie Plant
Hancock County Bay Saint Louis, Diamondhead, Kiln, Lakeshore, Pearlington, and Stennis Space Center
Harrison County Biloxi, Diberville, Gulfport, Long Beach, Pass Christian, and Saucier
Hinds County Bolton, Byram, Clinton, Edwards, Jackson, and Pocahontas
Holmes County Cruger, Durant, Goodman, Lexington, Pickens, and Tchula
Humphreys County Belzoni, Isola, Louise, Midnight, and Silver City
Issaquena County Grace, Mayersville, and Valley Park
Itawamba County Fulton, Golden, Mantachie, and Tremont
Jackson County Escatawpa, Gautier, Hurley, Moss Point, Ocean Springs, and Pascagoula
Jasper County Bay Springs, Heidelberg, Louin, Moss, Paulding, and Rose Hill
Jefferson Davis County Bassfield, Carson, and Prentiss
Jefferson County Fayette, Harriston, Lorman, and Union Church
Jones County Eastabuchie, Ellisville, Laurel, Moselle, Ovett, and Sandersville
Kemper County De Kalb, Porterville, Preston, and Scooba
Lafayette County Abbeville, Oxford, Paris, Taylor, Tula, and University
Lamar County Hattiesburg, Lumberton, Purvis, and Sumrall
Lauderdale County Bailey, Collinsville, Daleville, Lauderdale, Marion, and Meridian
Lawrence County Jayess, Monticello, Newhebron, Oak Vale, Silver Creek, and Sontag
Leake County Carthage, Madden, Thomastown, and Walnut Grove
Lee County Belden, Guntown, Mooreville, Plantersville, Saltillo, and Shannon
Leflore County Greenwood, Itta Bena, Minter City, Money, Morgan City, and Schlater
Lincoln County Bogue Chitto, Brookhaven, and Ruth
Lowndes County Artesia, Caledonia, Columbus, Crawford, Mayhew, and Steens
Madison County Camden, Canton, Flora, Madison, Ridgeland, and Sharon
Marion County Columbia, Foxworth, and Kokomo
Marshall County Byhalia, Holly Springs, Mount Pleasant, Potts Camp, Red Banks, and Victoria
Monroe County Aberdeen, Amory, Becker, Gattman, Greenwood Springs, and Hamilton
Montgomery County Duck Hill, Kilmichael, and Winona
Neshoba County Philadelphia
Newton County Chunky, Conehatta, Decatur, Hickory, Lawrence, and Little Rock
Noxubee County Brooksville, Macon, and Shuqualak
Oktibbeha County Mississippi State, Starkville, and Sturgis
Panola County Batesville, Como, Courtland, Crenshaw, Crowder, and Pope
Pearl River County Carriere, Mc Neill, Nicholson, Picayune, and Poplarville
Perry County Beaumont, New Augusta, and Richton
Pike County Chatawa, Fernwood, Magnolia, Mccomb, Osyka, and Summit
Pontotoc County Algoma, Ecru, Pontotoc, Randolph, Sherman, and Thaxton
Prentiss County Baldwyn, Booneville, Marietta, New Site, and Wheeler
Quitman County Belen, Darling, Falcon, Lambert, Marks, and Sledge
Rankin County Brandon, Florence, Flowood, Pearl, Pelahatchie, and Piney Woods
Scott County Forest, Harperville, Hillsboro, Lake, Lena, and Ludlow
Sharkey County Anguilla, Cary, Delta City, Panther Burn, and Rolling Fork
Simpson County Braxton, D Lo, Harrisville, Magee, Mendenhall, and Pinola
Smith County Mize, Raleigh, and Taylorsville
Stone County Mc Henry, Perkinston, and Wiggins
Sunflower County Doddsville, Drew, Holly Ridge, Indianola, Inverness, and Moorhead
Tallahatchie County Cascilla, Charleston, Enid, Glendora, Philipp, and Sumner
Tate County Arkabutla, Coldwater, Independence, Sarah, and Senatobia
Tippah County Blue Mountain, Dumas, Falkner, Ripley, Tiplersville, and Walnut
Tishomingo County Belmont, Burnsville, Dennis, Iuka, and Tishomingo
Tunica County Dundee, Robinsonville, and Tunica
Union County Blue Springs, Etta, Myrtle, and New Albany
Walthall County Sandy Hook and Tylertown
Warren County Redwood and Vicksburg
Washington County Arcola, Avon, Chatham, Glen Allan, Greenville, and Hollandale
Wayne County Buckatunna, Clara, and Waynesboro
Webster County Bellefontaine, Eupora, Maben, Mantee, Slate Spring, and Stewart
Wilkinson County Centreville, Crosby, and Woodville
Winston County Louisville and Noxapater
Yalobusha County Coffeeville, Oakland, Scobey, Tillatoba, and Water Valley
Yazoo County Benton, Bentonia, Holly Bluff, Satartia, Tinsley, and Vaughan
** This Document Provided By States101.com **
Source: https://www.states101.com/mississippi