North Dakota North Dakota State Facts

There are more men than women in North Dakota. The overall gender ratio is 105 men to 100 women.

The North Dakota flag was adopted on November 9, 1943. The flag has been ranked the 41st best U.S. flag by a leading Vexillology Organization.

The North Dakota quarter was the 39th quarter released overall. The quarter was released on August 28, 2006.

Recent estimates put North Dakota's population at around 739,000 people (48th out of 56).The population density is 10.7 people per square mile (53rd out of 56).

Someone from North Dakota is known as a North Dakotan. View our List of Adjectival and Demonyms for all the States.

North Dakota was the 39th state when it joined the United States on November 2, 1889. Prior to 1889, North Dakota was known as "Dakota Territory."

Essential North Dakota Facts

  • ND
    Postal Code
    The North Dakota postal code is ND. This abbreviation has been used since the USPS first established official codes in October 1963.
  • Gender Ratio
    Gender Ratio: 105 Men to 100 Women
    Male Population: 379,019 men
    Female Population: 360,463 women
  • State Flag
    The 7 main colors in the North Dakota flag are #002A86, #000000, #FF163C, #663D3D, #FFD12B, #E1D12B, and #FFFFFF
  • State Quarter
    The North Dakota Quarter was released in August 08, 2006.
    Total Mintage: 0.66 billion.
    Engraver: Donna Weaver
  • Population and Area
    Population: 739,482 people
    Land Area: 69,001 square miles
    Population Density: 739,482 people per square mile

Areas Codes in North Dakota (3)

  • 218
  • 605
  • 701

North Dakota Counties (53)

County Top Cities
Adams County Hettinger and Reeder
Barnes County Dazey, Fingal, Kathryn, Litchville, Nome, and Oriska
Benson County Esmond, Fort Totten, Knox, Leeds, Maddock, and Minnewaukan
Billings County Fairfield and Medora
Bottineau County Antler, Bottineau, Kramer, Lansford, Maxbass, and Newburg
Bowman County Bowman, Rhame, and Scranton
Burke County Bowbells, Columbus, Flaxton, Lignite, Portal, and Powers Lake
Burleigh County Baldwin, Bismarck, Driscoll, Menoken, Moffit, and Regan
Cass County Absaraka, Amenia, Argusville, Arthur, Ayr, and Buffalo
Cavalier County Alsen, Calvin, Hannah, Langdon, Maida, and Milton
Dickey County Ellendale, Forbes, Fullerton, Kulm, and Oakes
Divide County Ambrose, Crosby, Fortuna, Grenora, and Noonan
Dunn County Dodge, Dunn Center, Halliday, Killdeer, Manning, and Marshall
Eddy County New Rockford and Sheyenne
Emmons County Braddock, Hague, Hazelton, Kintyre, Linton, and Strasburg
Foster County Carrington, Glenfield, Grace City, and Mchenry
Golden Valley County Beach, Golva, and Sentinel Butte
Grand Forks County Arvilla, Emerado, Gilby, Grand Forks, Grand Forks Afb, and Inkster
Grant County Carson, Elgin, New Leipzig, Raleigh, and Shields
Griggs County Binford, Cooperstown, Hannaford, Jessie, and Sutton
Hettinger County Mott, New England, and Regent
Kidder County Dawson, Pettibone, Robinson, Steele, Tappen, and Tuttle
LaMoure County Berlin, Dickey, Edgeley, Jud, Lamoure, and Marion
Logan County Fredonia, Gackle, and Napoleon
McHenry County Anamoose, Balfour, Bantry, Deering, Drake, and Granville
McIntosh County Ashley, Lehr, Wishek, and Zeeland
McKenzie County Alexander, Arnegard, Cartwright, Grassy Butte, Keene, and Mandaree
McLean County Benedict, Coleharbor, Douglas, Garrison, Max, and Mercer
Mercer County Beulah, Golden Valley, Hazen, Stanton, and Zap
Morton County Almont, Flasher, Glen Ullin, Hebron, Mandan, and New Salem
Mountrail County New Town, Palermo, Parshall, Plaza, Ross, and Stanley
Nelson County Aneta, Dahlen, Lakota, Mcville, Michigan, and Pekin
Oliver County Center
Pembina County Bathgate, Cavalier, Crystal, Drayton, Glasston, and Hamilton
Pierce County Balta, Rugby, and Wolford
Ramsey County Brocket, Churchs Ferry, Crary, Devils Lake, Edmore, and Hampden
Ransom County Enderlin, Fort Ransom, Lisbon, and Sheldon
Renville County Glenburn, Mohall, Sherwood, and Tolley
Richland County Abercrombie, Barney, Christine, Colfax, Fairmount, and Hankinson
Rolette County Agate, Belcourt, Dunseith, Mylo, Rolette, and Rolla
Sargent County Cayuga, Cogswell, Forman, Gwinner, Havana, and Milnor
Sheridan County Butte, Denhoff, Goodrich, Martin, and Mcclusky
Sioux County Cannon Ball, Fort Yates, Selfridge, and Solen
Slope County Amidon and Marmarth
Stark County Belfield, Dickinson, Gladstone, Lefor, Richardton, and South Heart
Steele County Finley, Hatton, Hope, Luverne, and Sharon
Stutsman County Buchanan, Cleveland, Courtenay, Jamestown, Kensal, and Medina
Towner County Bisbee, Cando, Egeland, Hansboro, Perth, and Rocklake
Traill County Blanchard, Buxton, Caledonia, Clifford, Cummings, and Galesburg
Walsh County Adams, Edinburg, Fairdale, Fordville, Forest River, and Grafton
Ward County Berthold, Burlington, Carpio, Des Lacs, Donnybrook, and Kenmare
Wells County Bowdon, Cathay, Chaseley, Fessenden, Harvey, and Hurdsfield
Williams County Alamo, Epping, Mcgregor, Ray, Tioga, and Trenton
** This Document Provided By **