New Hampshire New Hampshire State Facts

There are fewer men than woman in New Hampshire. The overall gender ratio is 98 men to 100 women.

The New Hampshire flag was adopted on November 30, 1931. The flag has been ranked the 48th best U.S. flag by a leading Vexillology Organization.

The New Hampshire quarter was the 9th quarter released overall. The quarter was released on August 7, 2000.

Recent estimates put New Hampshire's population at around 1,327,000 people (43rd out of 56).The population density is 148.2 people per square mile (27th out of 56).

Someone from New Hampshire is known as a New Hampshirite. View our List of Adjectival and Demonyms for all the States.

New Hampshire was the 9th state when it joined the United States on June 21, 1788. Prior to 1788, New Hampshire was known as "Province of New Hampshire."

Essential New Hampshire Facts

  • NH
    Postal Code
    The New Hampshire postal code is NH. This abbreviation has been used since the USPS first established official codes in October 1963.
  • Gender Ratio
    Gender Ratio: 98 Men to 100 Women
    Male Population: 655,469 men
    Female Population: 671,344 women
  • State Flag
    The 5 main colors in the New Hampshire flag are #002A86, #EFAE0E, #FFFFFF, #3F863F, and #4F9EFF
  • State Quarter
    The New Hampshire Quarter was released in August 08, 2000.
    Total Mintage: 1.17 billion.
    Engraver: William Cousins
  • Population and Area
    Population: 1,326,813 people
    Land Area: 8,953 square miles
    Population Density: 1,326,813 people per square mile

Areas Codes in New Hampshire (4)

  • 207
  • 603
  • 802
  • 978

New Hampshire Counties (10)

County Top Cities
Belknap County Alton, Alton Bay, Barnstead, Belmont, Center Barnstead, and Center Harbor
Carroll County Bartlett, Center Conway, Center Ossipee, Center Sandwich, Center Tuftonboro, and Chocorua
Cheshire County Alstead, Ashuelot, Chesterfield, Drewsville, Dublin, and Fitzwilliam
Coos County Berlin, Bretton Woods, Colebrook, Errol, Gorham, and Groveton
Grafton County Ashland, Bath, Bethlehem, Bristol, Campton, and Canaan
Hillsborough County Amherst, Antrim, Bedford, Bennington, Brookline, and Francestown
Merrimack County Andover, Bow, Bradford, Canterbury, Chichester, and Concord
Rockingham County Atkinson, Auburn, Candia, Chester, Danville, and Deerfield
Strafford County Barrington, Center Strafford, Dover, Durham, Farmington, and Lee
Sullivan County Acworth, Charlestown, Claremont, Cornish, Cornish Flat, and Georges Mills
** This Document Provided By **