Washington Washington State Facts

There are an equal number of men and women in Washington. The overall gender ratio is 100 men to 100 women.

The Washington flag was adopted on August 25, 1923. The flag has been ranked the 32nd best U.S. flag by a leading Vexillology Organization.

The Washington quarter was the 42nd quarter released overall. The quarter was released on April 11, 2007.

Recent estimates put Washington's population at around 7,062,000 people (13th out of 56).The population density is 106.3 people per square mile (30th out of 56).

Someone from Washington is known as a Washingtonian. View our List of Adjectival and Demonyms for all the States.

Washington was the 42nd state when it joined the United States on November 11, 1889. Prior to 1889, Washington was known as "Washington Territory."

Essential Washington Facts

  • WA
    Postal Code
    The Washington postal code is WA. This abbreviation has been used since the USPS first established official codes in October 1963.
  • Gender Ratio
    Gender Ratio: 100 Men to 100 Women
    Male Population: 3,529,935 men
    Female Population: 3,531,595 women
  • State Flag
    The 6 main colors in the Washington flag are #008457, #FFD520, #000000, #34C2DE, #FDD6C6, and #FFFFFF
  • State Quarter
    The Washington Quarter was released in April 04, 2007.
    Total Mintage: 0.55 billion.
    Engraver: Charles L. Vickers
  • Population and Area
    Population: 7,061,530 people
    Land Area: 66,455 square miles
    Population Density: 7,061,530 people per square mile

Areas Codes in Washington (7)

  • 206
  • 208
  • 253
  • 360
  • 425
  • 503
  • 509

Washington Counties (39)

County Top Cities
Adams County Benge, Lind, Othello, Ritzville, and Washtucna
Asotin County Anatone, Asotin, and Clarkston
Benton County Benton City, Kennewick, Paterson, Plymouth, Prosser, and Richland
Chelan County Ardenvoir, Cashmere, Chelan, Chelan Falls, Dryden, and Entiat
Clallam County Beaver, Carlsborg, Clallam Bay, Joyce, La Push, and Neah Bay
Clark County Amboy, Battle Ground, Brush Prairie, Camas, Heisson, and La Center
Columbia County Dayton and Starbuck
Cowlitz County Ariel, Carrolls, Castle Rock, Cougar, Kalama, and Kelso
Douglas County Bridgeport, East Wenatchee, Mansfield, Orondo, Palisades, and Rock Island
Ferry County Boyds, Curlew, Danville, Inchelium, Keller, and Laurier
Franklin County Connell, Eltopia, Kahlotus, Mesa, and Pasco
Garfield County Pomeroy
Grant County Beverly, Coulee City, Electric City, Ephrata, George, and Grand Coulee
Grays Harbor County Aberdeen, Amanda Park, Copalis Beach, Copalis Crossing, Cosmopolis, and Elma
Island County Camano Island, Clinton, Coupeville, Freeland, Greenbank, and Langley
Jefferson County Brinnon, Chimacum, Forks, Nordland, Port Hadlock, and Port Ludlow
King County Auburn, Baring, Bellevue, Black Diamond, Bothell, and Burton
Kitsap County Bainbridge Island, Bremerton, Burley, Hansville, Indianola, and Keyport
Kittitas County Cle Elum, Easton, Ellensburg, Kittitas, Ronald, and Roslyn
Klickitat County Appleton, Bickleton, Bingen, Centerville, Dallesport, and Glenwood
Lewis County Adna, Centralia, Chehalis, Cinebar, Curtis, and Doty
Lincoln County Almira, Creston, Davenport, Edwall, Harrington, and Lamona
Mason County Allyn, Belfair, Grapeview, Hoodsport, Lilliwaup, and Matlock
Okanogan County Brewster, Carlton, Conconully, Coulee Dam, Elmer City, and Loomis
Pacific County Bay Center, Chinook, Grayland, Ilwaco, Lebam, and Long Beach
Pend Oreille County Cusick, Ione, Metaline, Metaline Falls, Newport, and Usk
Pierce County Anderson Island, Ashford, Bonney Lake, Buckley, Camp Murray, and Carbonado
San Juan County Blakely Island, Deer Harbor, Eastsound, Friday Harbor, Lopez Island, and Olga
Skagit County Anacortes, Bow, Burlington, Clearlake, Concrete, and Conway
Skamania County Carson, North Bonneville, Stevenson, and Underwood
Snohomish County Arlington, Bothell, Darrington, Edmonds, Everett, and Gold Bar
Spokane County Airway Heights, Chattaroy, Cheney, Colbert, Deer Park, and Elk
Stevens County Addy, Chewelah, Clayton, Colville, Evans, and Ford
Thurston County Bucoda, East Olympia, La Grande, Lacey, Littlerock, and Olympia
Wahkiakum County Cathlamet, Grays River, Rosburg, and Skamokawa
Walla Walla County Burbank, College Place, Dixie, Prescott, Touchet, and Waitsburg
Whatcom County Acme, Bellingham, Blaine, Custer, Deming, and Everson
Whitman County Albion, Belmont, Colfax, Colton, Endicott, and Farmington
Yakima County Brownstown, Buena, Cowiche, Grandview, Granger, and Harrah
** This Document Provided By States101.com **
Source: https://www.states101.com/washington