Arkansas Arkansas State Facts

There are fewer men than woman in Arkansas. The overall gender ratio is 97 men to 100 women.

The Arkansas flag was adopted on March 16, 1924. The flag has been ranked the 30th best U.S. flag by a leading Vexillology Organization.

The Arkansas quarter was the 25th quarter released overall. The quarter was released on October 20, 2003.

Recent estimates put Arkansas's population at around 2,966,000 people (33rd out of 56).The population density is 57.0 people per square mile (40th out of 56).

Someone from Arkansas is known as a Arkansan. View our List of Adjectival and Demonyms for all the States.

Arkansas was the 25th state when it joined the United States on June 15, 1836. Prior to 1836, Arkansas was known as "Arkansas Territory (initially organized as the Territory of Arkansaw)."

Essential Arkansas Facts

  • AR
    Postal Code
    The Arkansas postal code is AR. This abbreviation has been used since the USPS first established official codes in October 1963.
  • Gender Ratio
    Gender Ratio: 97 Men to 100 Women
    Male Population: 1,457,316 men
    Female Population: 1,509,053 women
  • State Flag
    The 3 main colors in the Arkansas flag are #BF0A30, #FFFFFF, and #002868
  • State Quarter
    The Arkansas Quarter was released in October 10, 2003.
    Total Mintage: 0.46 billion.
    Engraver: John Mercanti
  • Population and Area
    Population: 2,966,369 people
    Land Area: 52,035 square miles
    Population Density: 2,966,369 people per square mile

Areas Codes in Arkansas (6)

  • 318
  • 479
  • 501
  • 573
  • 870
  • 918

Arkansas Counties (75)

County Top Cities
Arkansas County Almyra, Casscoe, Crocketts Bluff, De Witt, Ethel, and Gillett
Ashley County Crossett, Fountain Hill, Hamburg, Montrose, Parkdale, and Portland
Baxter County Big Flat, Clarkridge, Cotter, Elizabeth, Gamaliel, and Gassville
Benton County Avoca, Bella Vista, Bentonville, Cave Springs, Centerton, and Decatur
Boone County Bergman, Diamond City, Everton, Harrison, Lead Hill, and Omaha
Bradley County Banks, Hermitage, Jersey, and Warren
Calhoun County Hampton, Harrell, and Thornton
Carroll County Alpena, Beaver, Berryville, Eureka Springs, Green Forest, and Oak Grove
Chicot County Dermott, Eudora, and Lake Village
Clark County Alpine, Amity, Arkadelphia, Beirne, Curtis, and Gurdon
Clay County Corning, Datto, Greenway, Knobel, Mc Dougal, and Peach Orchard
Cleburne County Concord, Drasco, Edgemont, Heber Springs, Higden, and Ida
Cleveland County Kingsland, New Edinburg, and Rison
Columbia County Emerson, Magnolia, Mc Neil, Taylor, and Waldo
Conway County Center Ridge, Cleveland, Hattieville, Menifee, Morrilton, and Plumerville
Craighead County Bay, Black Oak, Bono, Brookland, Caraway, and Cash
Crawford County Alma, Cedarville, Chester, Dyer, Mountainburg, and Mulberry
Crittenden County Clarkedale, Crawfordsville, Earle, Edmondson, Gilmore, and Marion
Cross County Cherry Valley, Hickory Ridge, Parkin, Vanndale, and Wynne
Dallas County Carthage, Fordyce, Ivan, and Sparkman
Desha County Arkansas City, Dumas, Mc Gehee, Pickens, Rohwer, and Snow Lake
Drew County Monticello, Wilmar, and Winchester
Faulkner County Conway, Damascus, Enola, Greenbrier, Guy, and Mayflower
Franklin County Alix, Altus, Branch, Cecil, Charleston, and Ozark
Fulton County Bexar, Camp, Cherokee Village, Gepp, Glencoe, and Mammoth Spring
Garland County Hot Springs National Park, Jessieville, Lonsdale, Mountain Pine, Pearcy, and Royal
Grant County Grapevine, Leola, Poyen, Prattsville, and Sheridan
Greene County Beech Grove, Delaplaine, Lafe, Marmaduke, Paragould, and Walcott
Hempstead County Blevins, Columbus, Fulton, Hope, Mc Caskill, and Ozan
Hot Spring County Bismarck, Bonnerdale, Donaldson, Friendship, Jones Mill, and Malvern
Howard County Dierks, Mineral Springs, Nashville, and Umpire
Independence County Batesville, Charlotte, Cord, Cushman, Desha, and Floral
Izard County Brockwell, Calico Rock, Dolph, Franklin, Guion, and Horseshoe Bend
Jackson County Amagon, Bradford, Diaz, Grubbs, Jacksonport, and Newport
Jefferson County Altheimer, Jefferson, Moscow, Pine Bluff, Redfield, and Reydell
Johnson County Clarksville, Coal Hill, Hagarville, Hartman, Knoxville, and Lamar
Lafayette County Bradley, Buckner, Lewisville, and Stamps
Lawrence County Alicia, Black Rock, Egypt, Hoxie, Lynn, and Minturn
Lee County Aubrey, Brickeys, Haynes, La Grange, Marianna, and Moro
Lincoln County Gould, Grady, Star City, and Yorktown
Little River County Alleene, Ashdown, Foreman, Ogden, Wilton, and Winthrop
Logan County Blue Mountain, Booneville, Delaware, Magazine, New Blaine, and Paris
Lonoke County Austin, Cabot, Carlisle, Coy, England, and Humnoke
Madison County Combs, Hindsville, Huntsville, Kingston, Pettigrew, and Saint Paul
Marion County Bull Shoals, Flippin, Oakland, Peel, Pyatt, and Summit
Miller County Doddridge, Fouke, Garland City, Genoa, and Texarkana
Mississippi County Armorel, Bassett, Blytheville, Burdette, Dell, and Driver
Monroe County Brinkley, Clarendon, Holly Grove, Monroe, and Roe
Montgomery County Caddo Gap, Mount Ida, Norman, Oden, Pencil Bluff, and Sims
Nevada County Bluff City, Cale, Emmet, Prescott, Rosston, and Willisville
Newton County Compton, Deer, Hasty, Jasper, Marble Falls, and Mount Judea
Ouachita County Bearden, Camden, Chidester, Louann, and Stephens
Perry County Adona, Bigelow, Casa, Houston, Perry, and Perryville
Phillips County Barton, Crumrod, Elaine, Helena, Lambrook, and Lexa
Pike County Antoine, Delight, Glenwood, Kirby, Langley, and Murfreesboro
Poinsett County Fisher, Harrisburg, Lepanto, Marked Tree, Rivervale, and Trumann
Polk County Board Camp, Cove, Grannis, Hatfield, Mena, and Vandervoort
Pope County Atkins, Dover, Hector, London, Pelsor, and Pottsville
Prairie County Biscoe, De Valls Bluff, Des Arc, Hazen, Hickory Plains, and Ulm
Pulaski County College Station, Jacksonville, Little Rock, Little Rock Air Force Base, Maumelle, and North Little Rock
Randolph County Biggers, Imboden, Maynard, O Kean, Pocahontas, and Ravenden Springs
Saline County Alexander, Bauxite, Benton, Bryant, Hensley, and Hot Springs Village
Scott County Boles, Harvey, Parks, and Waldron
Searcy County Gilbert, Harriet, Leslie, Marshall, Pindall, and Saint Joe
Sebastian County Barling, Fort Smith, Greenwood, Hackett, Hartford, and Huntington
Sevier County Ben Lomond, De Queen, Gillham, Horatio, and Lockesburg
Sharp County Ash Flat, Cave City, Evening Shade, Hardy, Poughkeepsie, and Ravenden
St. Francis County Caldwell, Colt, Forrest City, Goodwin, Heth, and Hughes
Stone County Fifty Six, Fox, Marcella, Mountain View, Onia, and Pleasant Grove
Union County Calion, El Dorado, Huttig, Junction City, Lawson, and Mount Holly
Van Buren County Bee Branch, Choctaw, Clinton, Dennard, Fairfield Bay, and Jerusalem
Washington County Canehill, Elkins, Evansville, Farmington, Fayetteville, and Goshen
White County Bald Knob, Beebe, El Paso, Garner, Griffithville, and Higginson
Woodruff County Augusta, Beedeville, Cotton Plant, Gregory, Hunter, and Mc Crory
Yell County Belleville, Bluffton, Briggsville, Centerville, Danville, and Dardanelle
** This Document Provided By **