Nebraska Nebraska State Facts

There are fewer men than woman in Nebraska. The overall gender ratio is 99 men to 100 women.

The Nebraska flag was adopted on July 16, 1963. The flag has been ranked the 56th best U.S. flag by a leading Vexillology Organization.

The Nebraska quarter was the 37th quarter released overall. The quarter was released on April 3, 2006.

Recent estimates put Nebraska's population at around 1,882,000 people (38th out of 56).The population density is 24.5 people per square mile (49th out of 56).

Someone from Nebraska is known as a Nebraskan. View our List of Adjectival and Demonyms for all the States.

Nebraska was the 37th state when it joined the United States on March 1, 1867. Prior to 1867, Nebraska was known as "Nebraska Territory."

Essential Nebraska Facts

  • NE
    Postal Code
    The Nebraska postal code is NE. This abbreviation has been used since the USPS first established official codes in October 1963.
  • Gender Ratio
    Gender Ratio: 99 Men to 100 Women
    Male Population: 936,863 men
    Female Population: 944,640 women
  • State Flag
    The 3 main colors in the Nebraska flag are #002A86, #FFCC00, and #C8C8C8
  • State Quarter
    The Nebraska Quarter was released in April 04, 2006.
    Total Mintage: 0.59 billion.
    Engraver: Charles L. Vickers
  • Population and Area
    Population: 1,881,503 people
    Land Area: 76,824 square miles
    Population Density: 1,881,503 people per square mile

Areas Codes in Nebraska (5)

  • 308
  • 402
  • 605
  • 712
  • 785

Nebraska Counties (93)

County Top Cities
Adams County Ayr, Hastings, Holstein, Juniata, Kenesaw, and Roseland
Antelope County Brunswick, Clearwater, Elgin, Neligh, Oakdale, and Orchard
Arthur County Arthur
Banner County Harrisburg
Blaine County Brewster, Dunning, and Purdum
Boone County Albion, Cedar Rapids, Petersburg, Primrose, and Saint Edward
Box Butte County Alliance and Hemingford
Boyd County Bristow, Butte, Lynch, Naper, and Spencer
Brown County Ainsworth, Johnstown, and Long Pine
Buffalo County Amherst, Elm Creek, Gibbon, Kearney, Miller, and Odessa
Burt County Craig, Decatur, Lyons, Oakland, and Tekamah
Butler County Abie, Bellwood, Brainard, Bruno, David City, and Dwight
Cass County Alvo, Avoca, Cedar Creek, Eagle, Elmwood, and Greenwood
Cedar County Belden, Coleridge, Fordyce, Hartington, Laurel, and Magnet
Chase County Champion, Enders, Imperial, and Wauneta
Cherry County Cody, Crookston, Elsmere, Kilgore, Merriman, and Nenzel
Cheyenne County Dalton, Gurley, Lodgepole, Potter, and Sidney
Clay County Clay Center, Deweese, Edgar, Fairfield, Glenvil, and Harvard
Colfax County Clarkson, Howells, Leigh, Rogers, and Schuyler
Cuming County Bancroft, Beemer, West Point, and Wisner
Custer County Anselmo, Ansley, Arnold, Broken Bow, Callaway, and Comstock
Dakota County Dakota City, Emerson, Homer, Hubbard, Jackson, and South Sioux City
Dawes County Chadron, Crawford, Marsland, and Whitney
Dawson County Cozad, Eddyville, Farnam, Gothenburg, Lexington, and Overton
Deuel County Big Springs and Chappell
Dixon County Allen, Concord, Dixon, Maskell, Newcastle, and Ponca
Dodge County Ames, Dodge, Fremont, Hooper, Nickerson, and North Bend
Douglas County Bennington, Boys Town, Elkhorn, Omaha, Valley, and Waterloo
Dundy County Benkelman, Haigler, Max, and Parks
Fillmore County Exeter, Fairmont, Geneva, Grafton, Milligan, and Ohiowa
Franklin County Bloomington, Campbell, Franklin, Hildreth, Naponee, and Riverton
Frontier County Curtis, Eustis, Maywood, Moorefield, and Stockville
Furnas County Arapahoe, Beaver City, Cambridge, Edison, Hendley, and Holbrook
Gage County Adams, Barneston, Beatrice, Blue Springs, Clatonia, and Cortland
Garden County Lewellen, Lisco, and Oshkosh
Garfield County Burwell
Gosper County Elwood and Smithfield
Grant County Ashby, Hyannis, and Whitman
Greeley County Greeley, Scotia, Spalding, and Wolbach
Hall County Alda, Cairo, Doniphan, Grand Island, and Wood River
Hamilton County Aurora, Giltner, Hampton, Hordville, Marquette, and Phillips
Harlan County Alma, Orleans, Oxford, Ragan, Republican City, and Stamford
Hayes County Hayes Center and Palisade
Hitchcock County Culbertson, Stratton, and Trenton
Holt County Amelia, Atkinson, Chambers, Emmet, Ewing, and Inman
Hooker County Mullen
Howard County Boelus, Dannebrog, Elba, Farwell, Saint Libory, and Saint Paul
Jefferson County Daykin, Diller, Endicott, Fairbury, Jansen, and Plymouth
Johnson County Cook, Crab Orchard, Elk Creek, Sterling, and Tecumseh
Kearney County Axtell, Heartwell, Minden, and Wilcox
Keith County Brule, Keystone, Lemoyne, Ogallala, and Paxton
Keya Paha County Mills and Springview
Kimball County Bushnell, Dix, and Kimball
Knox County Bloomfield, Center, Creighton, Crofton, Niobrara, and Verdigre
Lancaster County Bennet, Davey, Denton, Firth, Hallam, and Hickman
Lincoln County Brady, Dickens, Hershey, Maxwell, North Platte, and Sutherland
Logan County Stapleton
Loup County Taylor
Madison County Battle Creek, Madison, Meadow Grove, Newman Grove, Norfolk, and Tilden
McPherson County Tryon
Merrick County Archer, Central City, Chapman, Clarks, Palmer, and Silver Creek
Morrill County Angora, Bayard, Bridgeport, and Broadwater
Nance County Belgrade, Fullerton, and Genoa
Nemaha County Auburn, Brock, Brownville, Johnson, Julian, and Nemaha
Nuckolls County Hardy, Lawrence, Nelson, Oak, Ruskin, and Superior
Otoe County Burr, Douglas, Dunbar, Lorton, Nebraska City, and Otoe
Pawnee County Burchard, Du Bois, Lewiston, Pawnee City, Steinauer, and Table Rock
Perkins County Elsie, Grant, Madrid, and Venango
Phelps County Atlanta, Bertrand, Funk, Holdrege, and Loomis
Pierce County Hadar, Mclean, Osmond, Pierce, and Plainview
Platte County Columbus, Creston, Duncan, Humphrey, Lindsay, and Monroe
Polk County Osceola, Polk, Shelby, and Stromsburg
Red Willow County Bartley, Danbury, Indianola, Lebanon, and Mc Cook
Richardson County Dawson, Falls City, Humboldt, Rulo, Salem, and Shubert
Rock County Bassett and Newport
Saline County Crete, De Witt, Dorchester, Friend, Swanton, and Tobias
Sarpy County Bellevue, Gretna, La Vista, Offutt A F B, Omaha, and Papillion
Saunders County Ashland, Cedar Bluffs, Ceresco, Colon, Ithaca, and Malmo
Scotts Bluff County Gering, Lyman, Mcgrew, Melbeta, Minatare, and Mitchell
Seward County Beaver Crossing, Bee, Cordova, Garland, Goehner, and Milford
Sheridan County Bingham, Ellsworth, Gordon, Hay Springs, Lakeside, and Rushville
Sherman County Ashton, Hazard, Litchfield, Loup City, and Rockville
Sioux County Harrison
Stanton County Pilger and Stanton
Thayer County Alexandria, Belvidere, Bruning, Byron, Carleton, and Chester
Thomas County Halsey, Seneca, and Thedford
Thurston County Macy, Pender, Rosalie, Thurston, Walthill, and Winnebago
Valley County Arcadia, Elyria, North Loup, and Ord
Washington County Arlington, Blair, Fort Calhoun, Herman, Kennard, and Washington
Wayne County Carroll, Hoskins, Wayne, and Winside
Webster County Bladen, Blue Hill, Guide Rock, Inavale, and Red Cloud
Wheeler County Bartlett and Ericson
York County Benedict, Bradshaw, Gresham, Henderson, Mc Cool Junction, and Waco
** This Document Provided By **