Florida Florida State Facts

There are fewer men than woman in Florida. The overall gender ratio is 96 men to 100 women.

The Florida flag was adopted on May 21, 1985. The flag has been ranked the 22nd best U.S. flag by a leading Vexillology Organization.

The Florida quarter was the 27th quarter released overall. The quarter was released on March 29, 2004.

Recent estimates put Florida's population at around 19,893,000 people (3rd out of 56).The population density is 371.0 people per square mile (13th out of 56).

Someone from Florida is known as a Floridian. View our List of Adjectival and Demonyms for all the States.

Florida was the 27th state when it joined the United States on March 3, 1845. Prior to 1845, Florida was known as "Florida Territory."

Essential Florida Facts

  • FL
    Postal Code
    The Florida postal code is FL. This abbreviation has been used since the USPS first established official codes in October 1963.
  • Gender Ratio
    Gender Ratio: 96 Men to 100 Women
    Male Population: 9,723,286 men
    Female Population: 10,170,011 women
  • State Flag
    The 5 main colors in the Florida flag are #FFFFFF, #A80534, #FFB900, #015941, and #7D4802
  • State Quarter
    The Florida Quarter was released in March 03, 2004.
    Total Mintage: 0.48 billion.
    Engraver: T. James Ferrell
  • Population and Area
    Population: 19,893,297 people
    Land Area: 53,625 square miles
    Population Density: 19,893,297 people per square mile

Areas Codes in Florida (18)

  • 229
  • 239
  • 305
  • 321
  • 352
  • 386
  • 407
  • 561
  • 727
  • 754
  • 772
  • 786
  • 813
  • 850
  • 863
  • 904
  • 941
  • 954

Florida Counties (67)

County Top Cities
Alachua County Alachua, Archer, Earleton, Gainesville, High Springs, and Island Grove
Baker County Glen Saint Mary, Macclenny, Olustee, and Sanderson
Bay County Fountain, Lynn Haven, Mexico Beach, Panama City, Panama City Beach, and Rosemary Beach
Bradford County Brooker, Graham, Hampton, Lawtey, and Starke
Brevard County Cape Canaveral, Cocoa, Cocoa Beach, Grant, Indialantic, and Malabar
Broward County Coconut Creek, Coral Springs, Dania, Deerfield Beach, Fort Lauderdale, and Hallandale
Calhoun County Altha, Blountstown, Clarksville, and Wewahitchka
Charlotte County El Jobean, Englewood, Murdock, Placida, Port Charlotte, and Punta Gorda
Citrus County Beverly Hills, Crystal River, Dunnellon, Floral City, Hernando, and Holder
Clay County Doctors Inlet, Fleming Island, Green Cove Springs, Keystone Heights, Lake Geneva, and Middleburg
Collier County Chokoloskee, Copeland, Everglades City, Goodland, Immokalee, and Marco Island
Columbia County Fort White, Lake City, and Lulu
DeSoto County Arcadia, Fort Ogden, and Nocatee
Dixie County Cross City, Horseshoe Beach, Old Town, and Suwannee
Duval County Atlantic Beach, Jacksonville, Jacksonville Beach, and Neptune Beach
Escambia County Cantonment, Century, Gonzalez, Mc David, Molino, and Pensacola
Flagler County Bunnell, Flagler Beach, and Palm Coast
Franklin County Apalachicola, Carrabelle, Eastpoint, and Lanark Village
Gadsden County Chattahoochee, Greensboro, Gretna, Havana, Midway, and Quincy
Gilchrist County Bell and Trenton
Glades County Moore Haven and Palmdale
Gulf County Port Saint Joe and Wewahitchka
Hamilton County Jasper, Jennings, and White Springs
Hardee County Bowling Green, Ona, Wauchula, and Zolfo Springs
Hendry County Clewiston, Felda, and Labelle
Hernando County Brooksville, Istachatta, Nobleton, and Spring Hill
Highlands County Avon Park, Lake Placid, Lorida, Sebring, and Venus
Hillsborough County Apollo Beach, Balm, Brandon, Dover, Durant, and Gibsonton
Holmes County Bonifay, Noma, and Westville
Indian River County Fellsmere, Roseland, Sebastian, Vero Beach, Wabasso, and Winter Beach
Jackson County Alford, Bascom, Campbellton, Cottondale, Cypress, and Graceville
Jefferson County Lamont, Lloyd, Monticello, and Wacissa
Lafayette County Day and Mayo
Lake County Astatula, Astor, Clermont, Eustis, Ferndale, and Fruitland Park
Lee County Alva, Boca Grande, Bokeelia, Bonita Springs, Cape Coral, and Captiva
Leon County Tallahassee and Woodville
Levy County Bronson, Cedar Key, Chiefland, Gulf Hammock, Inglis, and Morriston
Liberty County Bristol, Hosford, Sumatra, and Telogia
Madison County Greenville, Lee, Madison, and Pinetta
Manatee County Anna Maria, Bradenton, Bradenton Beach, Cortez, Ellenton, and Holmes Beach
Marion County Altoona, Anthony, Belleview, Candler, Citra, and Dunnellon
Martin County Hobe Sound, Indiantown, Jensen Beach, Palm City, Port Salerno, and Stuart
Miami-Dade County Coral Gables, Hialeah, Homestead, Key Biscayne, Miami, and Miami Beach
Monroe County Big Pine Key, Islamorada, Key Colony Beach, Key Largo, Key West, and Long Key
Nassau County Bryceville, Callahan, Fernandina Beach, Hilliard, and Yulee
Okaloosa County Baker, Crestview, Destin, Eglin Afb, Fort Walton Beach, and Holt
Okeechobee County Okeechobee
Orange County Apopka, Christmas, Clarcona, Goldenrod, Gotha, and Killarney
Osceola County Intercession City, Kenansville, Kissimmee, and Saint Cloud
Palm Beach County Belle Glade, Boca Raton, Boynton Beach, Canal Point, Delray Beach, and Greenacres
Pasco County Aripeka, Crystal Springs, Dade City, Elfers, Holiday, and Hudson
Pinellas County Bay Pines, Belleair Beach, Clearwater, Clearwater Beach, Crystal Beach, and Dunedin
Polk County Alturas, Auburndale, Babson Park, Bartow, Bradley, and Davenport
Putnam County Bostwick, Crescent City, East Palatka, Edgar, Florahome, and Georgetown
Santa Rosa County Bagdad, Gulf Breeze, Jay, Milton, and Navarre
Sarasota County Englewood, Laurel, Longboat Key, Nokomis, North Port, and Osprey
Seminole County Altamonte Springs, Casselberry, Geneva, Lake Mary, Lake Monroe, and Longwood
St. Johns County Elkton, Hastings, Ponte Vedra, Ponte Vedra Beach, Saint Augustine, and Saint Johns
St. Lucie County Fort Pierce and Port Saint Lucie
Sumter County Bushnell, Center Hill, Coleman, Lake Panasoffkee, Oxford, and Sumterville
Suwannee County Branford, Live Oak, Mc Alpin, O Brien, and Wellborn
Taylor County Perry, Salem, Shady Grove, and Steinhatchee
Union County Lake Butler, Raiford, and Worthington Springs
Volusia County Barberville, Cassadaga, Daytona Beach, De Leon Springs, Debary, and Deland
Wakulla County Crawfordville, Panacea, Saint Marks, and Sopchoppy
Walton County Argyle, Defuniak Springs, Freeport, Miramar Beach, Mossy Head, and Paxton
Washington County Caryville, Chipley, Ebro, Vernon, and Wausau
** This Document Provided By States101.com **
Source: https://www.states101.com/florida