Wisconsin Wisconsin State Facts

There are fewer men than woman in Wisconsin. The overall gender ratio is 99 men to 100 women.

The Wisconsin flag was adopted on May 1, 1981. The flag has been ranked the 50th best U.S. flag by a leading Vexillology Organization.

The Wisconsin quarter was the 30th quarter released overall. The quarter was released on October 25, 2004.

Recent estimates put Wisconsin's population at around 5,758,000 people (20th out of 56).The population density is 106.3 people per square mile (31st out of 56).

Someone from Wisconsin is known as a Wisconsinite. View our List of Adjectival and Demonyms for all the States.

Wisconsin was the 30th state when it joined the United States on May 29, 1848. Prior to 1848, Wisconsin was known as "Wisconsin Territory."

Essential Wisconsin Facts

  • WI
    Postal Code
    The Wisconsin postal code is WI. This abbreviation has been used since the USPS first established official codes in October 1963.
  • Gender Ratio
    Gender Ratio: 99 Men to 100 Women
    Male Population: 2,859,507 men
    Female Population: 2,898,057 women
  • State Flag
    The 4 main colors in the Wisconsin flag are #002986, #FFFFFF, #000000, and #FFCC18
  • State Quarter
    The Wisconsin Quarter was released in October 10, 2004.
    Total Mintage: 0.45 billion.
    Engraver: Alfred Maletsky
  • Population and Area
    Population: 5,757,564 people
    Land Area: 54,158 square miles
    Population Density: 5,757,564 people per square mile

Areas Codes in Wisconsin (6)

  • 262
  • 414
  • 608
  • 715
  • 906
  • 920

Wisconsin Counties (72)

County Top Cities
Adams County Adams, Arkdale, Dellwood, Friendship, Grand Marsh, and Nekoosa
Ashland County Ashland, Butternut, Clam Lake, Glidden, High Bridge, and La Pointe
Barron County Almena, Barron, Brill, Cameron, Chetek, and Clayton
Bayfield County Bayfield, Benoit, Cable, Cornucopia, Drummond, and Grand View
Brown County De Pere, Denmark, Green Bay, Greenleaf, New Franken, and Oneida
Buffalo County Alma, Cochrane, Fountain City, Gilmanton, Mondovi, and Nelson
Burnett County Danbury, Grantsburg, Hertel, Siren, and Webster
Calumet County Brillion, Chilton, Forest Junction, Hilbert, New Holstein, and Potter
Chippewa County Bloomer, Boyd, Cadott, Chippewa Falls, Cornell, and Holcombe
Clark County Chili, Curtiss, Dorchester, Granton, Greenwood, and Humbird
Columbia County Arlington, Cambria, Columbus, Doylestown, Fall River, and Friesland
Crawford County Eastman, Ferryville, Gays Mills, Lynxville, Mount Sterling, and Prairie Du Chien
Dane County Belleville, Black Earth, Blue Mounds, Cambridge, Cottage Grove, and Cross Plains
Dodge County Ashippun, Beaver Dam, Brownsville, Burnett, Clyman, and Fox Lake
Door County Baileys Harbor, Brussels, Egg Harbor, Ellison Bay, Ephraim, and Fish Creek
Douglas County Brule, Foxboro, Gordon, Hawthorne, Lake Nebagamon, and Maple
Dunn County Boyceville, Colfax, Downing, Downsville, Eau Galle, and Elk Mound
Eau Claire County Altoona, Augusta, Eau Claire, Eleva, Fairchild, and Fall Creek
Florence County Fence and Florence
Fond du Lac County Brandon, Campbellsport, Eden, Eldorado, Fairwater, and Fond Du Lac
Forest County Argonne, Armstrong Creek, Crandon, Laona, Long Lake, and Pickerel
Grant County Bagley, Beetown, Bloomington, Boscobel, Cassville, and Cuba City
Green Lake County Dalton, Green Lake, Kingston, Markesan, Marquette, and Princeton
Green County Albany, Brodhead, Brooklyn, Browntown, Juda, and Monroe
Iowa County Arena, Avoca, Barneveld, Cobb, Dodgeville, and Edmund
Iron County Gile, Hurley, Iron Belt, Mercer, Montreal, and Saxon
Jackson County Alma Center, Black River Falls, Hixton, Melrose, Millston, and Taylor
Jefferson County Fort Atkinson, Helenville, Ixonia, Jefferson, Johnson Creek, and Lake Mills
Juneau County Camp Douglas, Elroy, Hustler, Lyndon Station, Mather, and Mauston
Kenosha County Bassett, Benet Lake, Bristol, Camp Lake, Kenosha, and New Munster
Kewaunee County Algoma, Casco, Kewaunee, and Luxemburg
La Crosse County Bangor, Holmen, La Crosse, Mindoro, Onalaska, and Rockland
Lafayette County Argyle, Belmont, Benton, Blanchardville, Darlington, and Gratiot
Langlade County Antigo, Bryant, Deerbrook, Elcho, Elton, and Pearson
Lincoln County Gleason, Heafford Junction, Irma, Merrill, and Tomahawk
Manitowoc County Cleveland, Collins, Francis Creek, Kellnersville, Kiel, and Manitowoc
Marathon County Abbotsford, Aniwa, Athens, Brokaw, Colby, and Edgar
Marinette County Amberg, Athelstane, Coleman, Crivitz, Dunbar, and Goodman
Marquette County Briggsville, Endeavor, Montello, Neshkoro, Packwaukee, and Westfield
Menominee County Keshena and Neopit
Milwaukee County Cudahy, Franklin, Greendale, Hales Corners, Milwaukee, and Oak Creek
Monroe County Cashton, Cataract, Kendall, Norwalk, Oakdale, and Sparta
Oconto County Abrams, Gillett, Lakewood, Lena, Little Suamico, and Mountain
Oneida County Harshaw, Hazelhurst, Lake Tomahawk, Mc Naughton, Minocqua, and Pelican Lake
Outagamie County Appleton, Bear Creek, Black Creek, Combined Locks, Dale, and Freedom
Ozaukee County Belgium, Cedarburg, Fredonia, Grafton, Mequon, and Port Washington
Pepin County Arkansaw, Durand, Pepin, and Stockholm
Pierce County Bay City, Beldenville, East Ellsworth, Ellsworth, Elmwood, and Hager City
Polk County Amery, Balsam Lake, Centuria, Clear Lake, Cushing, and Dresser
Portage County Almond, Amherst, Amherst Junction, Bancroft, Custer, and Junction City
Price County Brantwood, Catawba, Fifield, Kennan, Ogema, and Park Falls
Racine County Burlington, Caledonia, Franksville, Kansasville, Racine, and Rochester
Richland County Blue River, Cazenovia, Gotham, Lone Rock, Muscoda, and Richland Center
Rock County Afton, Avalon, Beloit, Clinton, Edgerton, and Evansville
Rusk County Bruce, Conrath, Glen Flora, Hawkins, Ladysmith, and Tony
Sauk County Baraboo, Hillpoint, La Valle, Lake Delton, Lime Ridge, and Loganville
Sawyer County Couderay, Edgewater, Exeland, Hayward, Ojibwa, and Radisson
Shawano County Birnamwood, Bonduel, Bowler, Caroline, Cecil, and Green Valley
Sheboygan County Adell, Cascade, Cedar Grove, Elkhart Lake, Glenbeulah, and Greenbush
St. Croix County Baldwin, Deer Park, Glenwood City, Hammond, Houlton, and Hudson
Taylor County Gilman, Hannibal, Jump River, Lublin, Medford, and Rib Lake
Trempealeau County Arcadia, Blair, Dodge, Ettrick, Galesville, and Independence
Vernon County Chaseburg, Coon Valley, De Soto, Genoa, Hillsboro, and La Farge
Vilas County Boulder Junction, Conover, Eagle River, Lac Du Flambeau, Land O Lakes, and Manitowish Waters
Walworth County Darien, Delavan, East Troy, Elkhorn, Fontana, and Genoa City
Washburn County Barronett, Birchwood, Minong, Sarona, Shell Lake, and Spooner
Washington County Allenton, Colgate, Germantown, Hartford, Hubertus, and Jackson
Waukesha County Big Bend, Brookfield, Butler, Delafield, Dousman, and Eagle
Waupaca County Big Falls, Clintonville, Embarrass, Fremont, Iola, and King
Waushara County Berlin, Coloma, Hancock, Pine River, Plainfield, and Poy Sippi
Winnebago County Butte Des Morts, Eureka, Larsen, Menasha, Neenah, and Omro
Wood County Arpin, Auburndale, Babcock, Blenker, Hewitt, and Marshfield
** This Document Provided By States101.com **
Source: https://www.states101.com/wisconsin