Montana Montana State Facts

There are more men than women in Montana. The overall gender ratio is 101 men to 100 women.

The Montana flag was adopted on December 17, 1981. The flag has been ranked the 55th best U.S. flag by a leading Vexillology Organization.

The Montana quarter was the 41st quarter released overall. The quarter was released on January 29, 2007.

Recent estimates put Montana's population at around 1,024,000 people (45th out of 56).The population density is 7.0 people per square mile (54th out of 56).

Someone from Montana is known as a Montanan. View our List of Adjectival and Demonyms for all the States.

Montana was the 41st state when it joined the United States on November 8, 1889. Prior to 1889, Montana was known as "Montana Territory."

Essential Montana Facts

  • MT
    Postal Code
    The Montana postal code is MT. This abbreviation has been used since the USPS first established official codes in October 1963.
  • Gender Ratio
    Gender Ratio: 101 Men to 100 Women
    Male Population: 514,123 men
    Female Population: 509,456 women
  • State Flag
    The 5 main colors in the Montana flag are #002A86, #FFD90F, #A2D100, #E8D9A8, and #000000
  • State Quarter
    The Montana Quarter was released in January 01, 2007.
    Total Mintage: 0.51 billion.
    Engraver: Don Everhart
  • Population and Area
    Population: 1,023,579 people
    Land Area: 145,546 square miles
    Population Density: 1,023,579 people per square mile

Areas Codes in Montana (4)

  • 208
  • 307
  • 406
  • 701

Montana Counties (56)

County Top Cities
Beaverhead County Dell, Dillon, Glen, Jackson, Lima, and Polaris
Big Horn County Busby, Crow Agency, Decker, Fort Smith, Garryowen, and Hardin
Blaine County Chinook, Harlem, Hays, Hogeland, Lloyd, and Turner
Broadwater County Radersburg, Toston, Townsend, and Winston
Carbon County Bearcreek, Belfry, Boyd, Bridger, Edgar, and Fromberg
Carter County Alzada, Boyes, Capitol, Ekalaka, and Hammond
Cascade County Belt, Black Eagle, Cascade, Floweree, Fort Shaw, and Great Falls
Chouteau County Big Sandy, Carter, Fort Benton, Geraldine, Highwood, and Loma
Custer County Ismay, Kinsey, Miles City, and Volborg
Daniels County Flaxville, Peerless, Scobey, and Whitetail
Dawson County Bloomfield, Glendive, Lindsay, and Richey
Deer Lodge County Anaconda and Warm Springs
Fallon County Baker, Plevna, and Willard
Fergus County Buffalo, Coffee Creek, Denton, Forest Grove, Grass Range, and Hilger
Flathead County Columbia Falls, Coram, Essex, Hungry Horse, Kalispell, and Kila
Gallatin County Belgrade, Big Sky, Bozeman, Gallatin Gateway, Manhattan, and Three Forks
Garfield County Brusett, Cohagen, Jordan, Mosby, and Sand Springs
Glacier County Babb, Browning, Cut Bank, and East Glacier Park
Golden Valley County Lavina and Ryegate
Granite County Drummond, Hall, and Philipsburg
Hill County Box Elder, Gildford, Havre, Hingham, Inverness, and Kremlin
Jefferson County Basin, Boulder, Cardwell, Clancy, Jefferson City, and Whitehall
Judith Basin County Geyser, Hobson, Moccasin, Raynesford, and Stanford
Lake County Arlee, Big Arm, Bigfork, Charlo, Dayton, and Elmo
Lewis and Clark County Augusta, Canyon Creek, East Helena, Fort Harrison, Helena, and Lincoln
Liberty County Chester, Joplin, Lothair, and Whitlash
Lincoln County Eureka, Fortine, Libby, Rexford, Stryker, and Trego
Madison County Alder, Cameron, Ennis, Harrison, Mc Allister, and Norris
McCone County Brockway, Circle, and Vida
Meagher County Martinsdale, Ringling, and White Sulphur Springs
Mineral County Alberton, De Borgia, Haugan, Saint Regis, Saltese, and Superior
Missoula County Bonner, Clinton, Condon, Frenchtown, Huson, and Lolo
Musselshell County Melstone, Musselshell, and Roundup
Park County Clyde Park, Cooke City, Emigrant, Gardiner, Livingston, and Pray
Petroleum County Teigen and Winnett
Phillips County Dodson, Loring, Malta, Saco, Whitewater, and Zortman
Pondera County Brady, Conrad, Dupuyer, Heart Butte, Ledger, and Valier
Powder River County Biddle, Broadus, Olive, Otter, and Powderville
Powell County Avon, Deer Lodge, Elliston, Garrison, Gold Creek, and Helmville
Prairie County Fallon, Mildred, and Terry
Ravalli County Conner, Corvallis, Darby, Florence, Grantsdale, and Hamilton
Richland County Crane, Culbertson, Fairview, Lambert, Savage, and Sidney
Roosevelt County Bainville, Brockton, Froid, Poplar, and Wolf Point
Rosebud County Angela, Ashland, Birney, Colstrip, Forsyth, and Hathaway
Sanders County Dixon, Heron, Hot Springs, Lonepine, Noxon, and Paradise
Sheridan County Antelope, Dagmar, Homestead, Medicine Lake, Outlook, and Plentywood
Silver Bow County Butte, Divide, Melrose, and Ramsay
Stillwater County Absarokee, Columbus, Fishtail, Molt, Nye, and Park City
Sweet Grass County Big Timber, Greycliff, Mc Leod, Melville, and Springdale
Teton County Bynum, Choteau, Dutton, Fairfield, Pendroy, and Power
Toole County Ethridge, Galata, Kevin, Oilmont, Shelby, and Sunburst
Treasure County Bighorn, Hysham, and Sanders
Valley County Fort Peck, Frazer, Glasgow, Glentana, Hinsdale, and Larslan
Wheatland County Harlowton, Judith Gap, Shawmut, and Two Dot
Wibaux County Wibaux
Yellowstone County Acton, Ballantine, Billings, Broadview, Custer, and Huntley
** This Document Provided By **