Wyoming Wyoming State Facts

There are more men than women in Wyoming. The overall gender ratio is 104 men to 100 women.

The Wyoming flag was adopted on March 4, 1917. The flag has been ranked the 16th best U.S. flag by a leading Vexillology Organization.

The Wyoming quarter was the 44th quarter released overall. The quarter was released on September 4, 2007.

Recent estimates put Wyoming's population at around 584,000 people (52nd out of 56).The population density is 6.0 people per square mile (55th out of 56).

Someone from Wyoming is known as a Wyomingite. View our List of Adjectival and Demonyms for all the States.

Wyoming was the 44th state when it joined the United States on July 10, 1890. Prior to 1890, Wyoming was known as "Wyoming Territory."

Essential Wyoming Facts

  • WY
    Postal Code
    The Wyoming postal code is WY. This abbreviation has been used since the USPS first established official codes in October 1963.
  • Gender Ratio
    Gender Ratio: 104 Men to 100 Women
    Male Population: 298,042 men
    Female Population: 286,111 women
  • State Flag
    The 3 main colors in the Wyoming flag are #002868, #BF0A30, and #FFFFFF
  • State Quarter
    The Wyoming Quarter was released in September 09, 2007.
    Total Mintage: 0.56 billion.
    Engraver: Norman E. Nemeth
  • Population and Area
    Population: 584,153 people
    Land Area: 97,093 square miles
    Population Density: 584,153 people per square mile

Areas Codes in Wyoming (7)

  • 208
  • 307
  • 406
  • 435
  • 605
  • 712
  • 970

Wyoming Counties (23)

County Top Cities
Albany County Bosler, Buford, Centennial, Garrett, Jelm, and Laramie
Big Horn County Basin, Burlington, Byron, Cowley, Deaver, and Emblem
Campbell County Gillette, Recluse, Rozet, Weston, and Wright
Carbon County Baggs, Dixon, Elk Mountain, Encampment, Hanna, and Medicine Bow
Converse County Douglas, Glenrock, Lost Springs, and Shawnee
Crook County Aladdin, Alva, Beulah, Devils Tower, Hulett, and Moorcroft
Fremont County Arapahoe, Crowheart, Dubois, Fort Washakie, Hiland, and Hudson
Goshen County Fort Laramie, Hawk Springs, Huntley, Jay Em, Lagrange, and Lingle
Hot Springs County Kirby and Thermopolis
Johnson County Buffalo, Kaycee, Linch, and Saddlestring
Laramie County Albin, Burns, Carpenter, Cheyenne, Fe Warren Afb, and Granite Canon
Lincoln County Afton, Alpine, Auburn, Bedford, Cokeville, and Diamondville
Natrona County Alcova, Arminto, Casper, Edgerton, Evansville, and Midwest
Niobrara County Lance Creek, Lusk, Manville, and Van Tassell
Park County Cody, Meeteetse, Powell, Ralston, Wapiti, and Yellowstone National Park
Platte County Chugwater, Glendo, Guernsey, Hartville, and Wheatland
Sheridan County Arvada, Banner, Big Horn, Clearmont, Dayton, and Leiter
Sublette County Big Piney, Bondurant, Boulder, Cora, Daniel, and Pinedale
Sweetwater County Bairoil, Farson, Granger, Green River, Little America, and Mc Kinnon
Teton County Alta, Jackson, Kelly, Moose, Moran, and Teton Village
Uinta County Evanston, Fort Bridger, Lonetree, Lyman, Mountain View, and Robertson
Washakie County Ten Sleep and Worland
Weston County Four Corners, Newcastle, Osage, and Upton
** This Document Provided By States101.com **
Source: https://www.states101.com/wyoming