Louisiana Louisiana State Facts

There are fewer men than woman in Louisiana. The overall gender ratio is 96 men to 100 women.

The Louisiana flag was adopted on November 22, 2010. The flag has been ranked the 23rd best U.S. flag by a leading Vexillology Organization.

The Louisiana quarter was the 18th quarter released overall. The quarter was released on May 30, 2002.

Recent estimates put Louisiana's population at around 4,650,000 people (25th out of 56).The population density is 107.6 people per square mile (29th out of 56).

Someone from Louisiana is known as a Louisianian. View our List of Adjectival and Demonyms for all the States.

Louisiana was the 18th state when it joined the United States on April 30, 1812. Prior to 1812, Louisiana was known as "Territory of Orleans."

Essential Louisiana Facts

  • LA
    Postal Code
    The Louisiana postal code is LA. This abbreviation has been used since the USPS first established official codes in October 1963.
  • Gender Ratio
    Gender Ratio: 96 Men to 100 Women
    Male Population: 2,273,939 men
    Female Population: 2,375,737 women
  • State Flag
    The 3 main colors in the Louisiana flag are #00447B, #FEFEFE, and #FFFFFF
  • State Quarter
    The Louisiana Quarter was released in May 05, 2002.
    Total Mintage: 0.76 billion.
    Engraver: John Mercanti
  • Population and Area
    Population: 4,649,676 people
    Land Area: 43,204 square miles
    Population Density: 4,649,676 people per square mile

Areas Codes in Louisiana (7)

  • 225
  • 318
  • 337
  • 504
  • 870
  • 903
  • 985

Louisiana Counties (64)

County Top Cities
Acadia Parish Branch, Church Point, Crowley, Egan, Estherwood, and Evangeline
Allen Parish Elizabeth, Grant, Kinder, Leblanc, Mittie, and Oakdale
Ascension Parish Brittany, Burnside, Darrow, Donaldsonville, Duplessis, and Geismar
Assumption Parish Belle Rose, Labadieville, Napoleonville, Paincourtville, Pierre Part, and Plattenville
Avoyelles Parish Bordelonville, Bunkie, Center Point, Cottonport, Dupont, and Effie
Beauregard Parish Deridder, Dry Creek, Longville, Merryville, Ragley, and Singer
Bienville Parish Arcadia, Bienville, Castor, Gibsland, Jamestown, and Ringgold
Bossier Parish Barksdale Afb, Benton, Bossier City, Elm Grove, Haughton, and Plain Dealing
Caddo Parish Belcher, Bethany, Blanchard, Gilliam, Greenwood, and Hosston
Calcasieu Parish Bell City, Dequincy, Hayes, Iowa, Lake Charles, and Starks
Caldwell Parish Clarks, Columbia, Grayson, and Kelly
Cameron Parish Cameron, Creole, Grand Chenier, and Hackberry
Catahoula Parish Aimwell, Enterprise, Harrisonburg, Jonesville, Rhinehart, and Sicily Island
Claiborne Parish Athens, Haynesville, Homer, Lisbon, and Summerfield
Concordia Parish Acme, Ferriday, Monterey, Vidalia, and Wildsville
De Soto Parish Frierson, Gloster, Grand Cane, Keatchie, Logansport, and Longstreet
East Baton Rouge Parish Baker, Baton Rouge, Greenwell Springs, Pride, and Zachary
East Carroll Parish Lake Providence, Sondheimer, and Transylvania
East Feliciana Parish Clinton, Ethel, Jackson, Norwood, Slaughter, and Wilson
Evangeline Parish Basile, Chataignier, Mamou, Pine Prairie, Reddell, and Saint Landry
Franklin Parish Baskin, Chase, Crowville, Fort Necessity, Gilbert, and Jigger
Grant Parish Bentley, Colfax, Dry Prong, Georgetown, Montgomery, and Pollock
Iberia Parish Avery Island, Delcambre, Jeanerette, Loreauville, Lydia, and New Iberia
Iberville Parish Carville, Grosse Tete, Maringouin, Plaquemine, Rosedale, and Saint Gabriel
Jackson Parish Chatham, Hodge, Jonesboro, and Quitman
Jefferson Davis Parish Elton, Fenton, Jennings, Lacassine, Lake Arthur, and Roanoke
Jefferson Parish Barataria, Grand Isle, Gretna, Harvey, Kenner, and Lafitte
Lafayette Parish Broussard, Carencro, Duson, Lafayette, Scott, and Youngsville
Lafourche Parish Cut Off, Galliano, Gheens, Golden Meadow, Kraemer, and Larose
LaSalle Parish Jena, Olla, Trout, Tullos, and Urania
Lincoln Parish Choudrant, Dubach, Grambling, Ruston, and Simsboro
Livingston Parish Albany, Denham Springs, French Settlement, Holden, Livingston, and Maurepas
Madison Parish Delta and Tallulah
Morehouse Parish Bastrop, Bonita, Collinston, Jones, Mer Rouge, and Oak Ridge
Natchitoches Parish Ashland, Campti, Clarence, Cloutierville, Flora, and Goldonna
Orleans Parish New Orleans
Ouachita Parish Calhoun, Eros, Fairbanks, Monroe, Sterlington, and Swartz
Plaquemines Parish Belle Chasse, Boothville, Braithwaite, Buras, Empire, and Pilottown
Pointe Coupee Parish Batchelor, Fordoche, Glynn, Innis, Jarreau, and Lakeland
Rapides Parish Alexandria, Ball, Boyce, Cheneyville, Deville, and Echo
Red River Parish Coushatta and Hall Summit
Richland Parish Archibald, Delhi, Mangham, Rayville, and Start
Sabine Parish Belmont, Converse, Fisher, Florien, Many, and Negreet
St. Bernard Parish Arabi, Chalmette, Meraux, Saint Bernard, and Violet
St. Charles Parish Ama, Boutte, Des Allemands, Destrehan, Hahnville, and Luling
St. Helena Parish Greensburg and Pine Grove
St. James Parish Convent, Gramercy, Hester, Lutcher, Paulina, and Saint James
St. John the Baptist Parish Edgard, Garyville, La Place, Mount Airy, and Reserve
St. Landry Parish Arnaudville, Eunice, Grand Coteau, Krotz Springs, Lawtell, and Lebeau
St. Martin Parish Breaux Bridge, Cade, Cecilia, and Saint Martinville
St. Mary Parish Amelia, Baldwin, Berwick, Centerville, Charenton, and Franklin
St. Tammany Parish Abita Springs, Bush, Covington, Folsom, Lacombe, and Madisonville
Tangipahoa Parish Akers, Amite, Fluker, Hammond, Husser, and Independence
Tensas Parish Clayton, Newellton, Saint Joseph, and Waterproof
Terrebonne Parish Bourg, Chauvin, Donner, Dulac, Gibson, and Gray
Union Parish Bernice, Downsville, Farmerville, Lillie, Marion, and Spearsville
Vermilion Parish Abbeville, Erath, Gueydan, Kaplan, Maurice, and Milton
Vernon Parish Anacoco, Evans, Fort Polk, Hornbeck, Kurthwood, and Leesville
Washington Parish Angie, Bogalusa, Franklinton, Mount Hermon, and Varnado
Webster Parish Cotton Valley, Cullen, Doyline, Dubberly, Heflin, and Minden
West Baton Rouge Parish Addis, Brusly, Erwinville, and Port Allen
West Carroll Parish Epps, Forest, Kilbourne, Oak Grove, and Pioneer
West Feliciana Parish Angola, Saint Francisville, Tunica, Wakefield, and Weyanoke
Winn Parish Atlanta, Calvin, Dodson, Joyce, Saint Maurice, and Sikes
** This Document Provided By States101.com **
Source: https://www.states101.com/louisiana