Alabama Alabama State Facts

There are fewer men than woman in Alabama. The overall gender ratio is 94 men to 100 women.

The Alabama flag was adopted on February 16, 1895. The flag has been ranked the 19th best U.S. flag by a leading Vexillology Organization.

The Alabama quarter was the 22nd quarter released overall. The quarter was released on March 17, 2003.

Recent estimates put Alabama's population at around 4,849,000 people (23rd out of 56).The population density is 95.8 people per square mile (33rd out of 56).

Someone from Alabama is known as a Alabamian. View our List of Adjectival and Demonyms for all the States.

Alabama was the 22nd state when it joined the United States on December 14, 1819. Prior to 1819, Alabama was known as "Alabama Territory."

Essential Alabama Facts

  • AL
    Postal Code
    The Alabama postal code is AL. This abbreviation has been used since the USPS first established official codes in October 1963.
  • Gender Ratio
    Gender Ratio: 94 Men to 100 Women
    Male Population: 2,349,967 men
    Female Population: 2,499,410 women
  • State Flag
    The 2 main colors in the Alabama flag are #FFFFFF and #B10021
  • State Quarter
    The Alabama Quarter was released in March 03, 2003.
    Total Mintage: 0.46 billion.
    Engraver: Norman E. Nemeth
  • Population and Area
    Population: 4,849,377 people
    Land Area: 50,645 square miles
    Population Density: 4,849,377 people per square mile

Areas Codes in Alabama (5)

  • 205
  • 228
  • 251
  • 256
  • 334

Alabama Counties (67)

County Top Cities
Autauga County Autaugaville, Billingsley, Booth, Jones, Marbury, and Prattville
Baldwin County Bay Minette, Bon Secour, Daphne, Elberta, Fairhope, and Foley
Barbour County Clayton, Clio, Eufaula, and Louisville
Bibb County Brent, Brierfield, Centreville, Green Pond, Lawley, and Randolph
Blount County Allgood, Blountsville, Cleveland, Hayden, Locust Fork, and Oneonta
Bullock County Fitzpatrick, Midway, Perote, and Union Springs
Butler County Chapman, Forest Home, Georgiana, Greenville, and Mc Kenzie
Calhoun County Alexandria, Anniston, Bynum, Choccolocco, De Armanville, and Eastaboga
Chambers County Cusseta, Five Points, Lafayette, Lanett, and Valley
Cherokee County Cedar Bluff, Centre, Gaylesville, Leesburg, and Spring Garden
Chilton County Clanton, Jemison, Maplesville, Stanton, Thorsby, and Verbena
Choctaw County Butler, Gilbertown, Jachin, Lisman, Melvin, and Needham
Clarke County Campbell, Carlton, Coffeeville, Dickinson, Fulton, and Gainestown
Clay County Ashland, Cragford, Delta, Hollins, Lineville, and Millerville
Cleburne County Edwardsville, Fruithurst, Heflin, Muscadine, and Ranburne
Coffee County Elba, Enterprise, Glenwood, Jack, Kinston, and New Brockton
Colbert County Cherokee, Leighton, Muscle Shoals, Sheffield, and Tuscumbia
Conecuh County Brooklyn, Castleberry, Evergreen, Lenox, Range, and Repton
Coosa County Equality, Goodwater, Kellyton, Rockford, and Weogufka
Covington County Andalusia, Florala, Gantt, Lockhart, Opp, and Red Level
Crenshaw County Brantley, Dozier, Highland Home, Honoraville, Lapine, and Luverne
Cullman County Baileyton, Bremen, Crane Hill, Cullman, Garden City, and Hanceville
Dale County Ariton, Daleville, Fort Rucker, Midland City, Newton, and Ozark
Dallas County Marion Junction, Minter, Orrville, Plantersville, Safford, and Sardis
DeKalb County Collinsville, Crossville, Dawson, Fort Payne, Fyffe, and Geraldine
Elmore County Coosada, Deatsville, Eclectic, Elmore, Kent, and Millbrook
Escambia County Atmore, Brewton, Flomaton, and Huxford
Etowah County Altoona, Attalla, Boaz, Gadsden, Gallant, and Rainbow City
Fayette County Bankston, Belk, Berry, Eldridge, Fayette, and Glen Allen
Franklin County Hodges, Phil Campbell, Red Bay, Russellville, Spruce Pine, and Vina
Geneva County Bellwood, Black, Chancellor, Coffee Springs, Geneva, and Hartford
Greene County Boligee, Clinton, Eutaw, Forkland, Knoxville, and West Greene
Hale County Akron, Greensboro, Moundville, Newbern, and Sawyerville
Henry County Abbeville, Clopton, Columbia, Headland, Newville, and Shorterville
Houston County Ashford, Cottonwood, Cowarts, Dothan, Gordon, and Pansey
Jackson County Bridgeport, Bryant, Dutton, Estillfork, Fackler, and Flat Rock
Jefferson County Adamsville, Adger, Alton, Bessemer, Birmingham, and Brookside
Lamar County Beaverton, Detroit, Kennedy, Millport, Sulligent, and Vernon
Lauderdale County Anderson, Cloverdale, Florence, Killen, Lexington, and Rogersville
Lawrence County Courtland, Danville, Hillsboro, Moulton, Mount Hope, and Town Creek
Lee County Auburn, Auburn University, Loachapoka, Opelika, Phenix City, and Salem
Limestone County Ardmore, Athens, Belle Mina, Capshaw, Elkmont, and Lester
Lowndes County Fort Deposit, Hayneville, Hope Hull, Letohatchee, Lowndesboro, and Tyler
Macon County Fort Davis, Hardaway, Notasulga, Shorter, Tuskegee, and Tuskegee Institute
Madison County Brownsboro, Gurley, Harvest, Hazel Green, Huntsville, and Madison
Marengo County Demopolis, Dixons Mills, Faunsdale, Gallion, Jefferson, and Linden
Marion County Bear Creek, Brilliant, Guin, Hackleburg, Hamilton, and Winfield
Marshall County Albertville, Arab, Boaz, Douglas, Grant, and Guntersville
Mobile County Axis, Bayou La Batre, Bucks, Chunchula, Citronelle, and Coden
Monroe County Beatrice, Excel, Franklin, Frisco City, Goodway, and Megargel
Montgomery County Cecil, Grady, Mathews, Montgomery, Mount Meigs, and Pike Road
Morgan County Decatur, Eva, Falkville, Hartselle, Laceys Spring, and Somerville
Perry County Marion and Uniontown
Pickens County Aliceville, Carrollton, Ethelsville, Gordo, Mc Shan, and Reform
Pike County Banks, Brundidge, Goshen, and Troy
Randolph County Graham, Roanoke, Wadley, Wedowee, and Woodland
Russell County Cottonton, Fort Mitchell, Hatchechubbee, Holy Trinity, Hurtsboro, and Phenix City
Shelby County Alabaster, Birmingham, Calera, Chelsea, Columbiana, and Harpersville
St. Clair County Ashville, Cook Springs, Cropwell, Margaret, Moody, and Odenville
Sumter County Bellamy, Cuba, Emelle, Epes, Gainesville, and Livingston
Talladega County Alpine, Bon Air, Childersburg, Lincoln, Munford, and Sycamore
Tallapoosa County Alexander City, Camp Hill, Dadeville, Daviston, East Tallassee, and Jacksons Gap
Tuscaloosa County Abernant, Brookwood, Buhl, Coaling, Coker, and Cottondale
Walker County Burnwell, Carbon Hill, Cordova, Empire, Goodsprings, and Jasper
Washington County Calvert, Chatom, Deer Park, Frankville, Fruitdale, and Leroy
Wilcox County Alberta, Annemanie, Arlington, Boykin, Camden, and Catherine
Winston County Addison, Arley, Delmar, Double Springs, Haleyville, and Houston
** This Document Provided By **