Indiana Indiana State Facts

Indiana Map

There are fewer men than woman in Indiana. The overall gender ratio is 97 men to 100 women.

The Indiana flag was adopted on May 31, 1917. The flag has been ranked the 20th best U.S. flag by a leading Vexillology Organization.

The Indiana quarter was the 19th quarter released overall. The quarter was released on August 8, 2002.

Recent estimates put Indiana's population at around 6,597,000 people (16th out of 56).The population density is 184.1 people per square mile (22nd out of 56).

Someone from Indiana is known as a Indianian. View our List of Adjectival and Demonyms for all the States.

Indiana was the 19th state when it joined the United States on December 11, 1816. Prior to 1816, Indiana was known as "Indiana Territory."

Essential Indiana Facts

  • IN
    Postal Code
    The Indiana postal code is IN. This abbreviation has been used since the USPS first established official codes in October 1963.
  • Gender Ratio
    Gender Ratio: 97 Men to 100 Women
    Male Population: 3,249,444 men
    Female Population: 3,347,411 women
  • State Flag
    The 2 main colors in the Indiana flag are #000F5D and #D59F0F
  • State Quarter
    The Indiana Quarter was released in August 08, 2002.
    Total Mintage: 0.69 billion.
    Engraver: Donna Weaver
  • Population and Area
    Population: 6,596,855 people
    Land Area: 35,826 square miles
    Population Density: 6,596,855 people per square mile

Areas Codes in Indiana (0)

    Indiana Counties (0)

    County Top Cities
    ** This Document Provided By **